Parenting guilt trip

Yesterday morning, I woke up with a cold. I felt crappy but had to get up with the kids, nonetheless.

I nursed Bo while D got breakfast for Littleman. Then I plopped Bo on the floor to play while I sat on the couch with my coffee. I flipped on the TV and put on our morning show to catch the news while Littleman ate his bowl of cereal in front of his iPad.

All of a sudden, I noticed Bo engrossed with the TV. And what was on the screen? A commercial lecturing me about kids and screen time.

2015/01/img_1848.jpg
Oops. We try not to let the boys watch too much TV, but sometimes we just need it. What I don’t need, though, is the TV making me feel guilty about it!

2 thoughts on “Parenting guilt trip

  1. Parenting and guilt just go hand in hand, don’t they?

    We all grew up watching lots and lots of TV, and I think we turned out ok. Don’t beat yourself up, and feel better soon!

  2. I hear ya! I get guilt from the commercials telling me 85% of brain growth is done by age three and my kids are probably not getting the nutrients to make their brains as good as they can/should be. I panicked last night when i realized G will be 3 in a couple more months!

    The TV is constantly on and my youngest has always been entranced. The habit is worse in the winter. And we have all been sick, so if it gives the kids a chance to rest I will take it!! I would probably venture into our back yard more if L could walk/run. Hopefully once it gets warmer Ill be able to shove both boys out the door to run around burn off energy!

Leave a Reply

