Half!

Baby Bo is six months old!  Isn’t it crazy how quickly the time goes by?  How has he been here for half a year already?

Personality

Bo is still a pretty happy baby.  It isn’t hard to make him smile.  In fact, he’ll smile his big, gummy grin at just about anyone.  I have noticed recently, though, that he often glances over at me once he’s smiled at someone, as if he’s checking to see if he has my approval.  Funny.

He also has the best laugh.  He’s pretty ticklish and it’s awesome to get him going.  Littleman often asks me to make Bo laugh.  It’s awesome.

While he is generally a happy and good-natured guy, I’ve started to notice him fussing a bit more recently. I think he’s teething and in pain. His hands are constantly in his mouth and he’s drooling like crazy.

Sleep

Sleep is one of those things that always seems to be changing.  But, for the most part, we have it pretty good.  In the past few weeks, it’s become clear that Bo needs an early bedtime.  Some days, he’s ready for bed shortly after 6pm.  Other days, if he’s had a nap in the late afternoon, he can stay awake as late as 7:30pm.

I still do the dream feed around 10:30pm because I find it gives me the best chance of having a long stretch of sleep.  After that, he’ll generally sleep anywhere from 6-8 hours and then usually goes right back to sleep after feeding for another 2 or so hours.

Naps are still a bit sporadic, with his morning nap being more constant.  He’ll usually need to go down for a nap about 1.5-2 hours after he wakes in the morning and he’ll nap for anywhere from 1-2 hours at that point.  The afternoon naps are usually shorter and less consistent.

Eating

We officially made it through six months of exclusive breastfeeding!  I feel really good about it after the rough start due to his tongue tie and me getting sick.  I realize and appreciate what a huge accomplishment this is after seeing so many people struggle with breastfeeding.

The only thing I wish was different is the fact that he won’t take a bottle.  Luckily, we haven’t had anywhere we’ve had to go without him so it hasn’t been a major issue.

We plan to start solids this week.  I can tell Bo’s ready.  He’s constantly watching us eat and trying to grab at my food.  I’m also going to buy some formula to start offering him in a cup.  I don’t expect that he’ll drink much of it but I think he’s ready to start practicing the cup and I hate pump, only to see that precious breastmilk get wasted.

Development

We’ve been working on sitting up.  Bo can sit supported but tends to tip forward (and face plant) if left on his own.

He’s rolling like crazy now. When he’s playing on his back, he often flips into his tummy. Then he gets mad because he forgets that he knows how to roll back over!

Happy Half Birthday, sweet baby!

IMG_9754.JPG

IMG_9800.JPG

IMG_9837.JPG

One thought on “Half!

Leave a Reply

