5 months

Another month has come and gone.  Baby Bo is now five months old!

My little guy enjoys playing is his ExerSaucer, reaching for and exploring all the toys that are attached.  I’m impressed with his coordination these days.  Yesterday, he dropped a teething ring.  It landed beyond his reach, so he rolled onto his side so that he could stretch his arm out to grab it.  Amazing!

He continues to be an incredibly happy and easy-going baby.  As is probably pretty normal for a second child, he gets dragged to birthday parties and soccer games all the time.  His naps gets bumped and he gets fed wherever we are but he never complains.  Even when he’s totally pooped, he’ll give a big toothless grin to anyone who looks his way.  He really is a sweet, sweet boy.

The biggest development this month has been the transition into his crib.  I’m still a bit sad about it (I know, I know, get over it) but he’s definitely more comfortable there.  He naps really well in the crib and I continue to put him down awake as often as I can.  Sometimes he falls asleep nursing at which point (obviously) I’m not going to wake him up just so that he can be put down “drowsy”.  But, he’s really quite good at settling himself if he’s awake when I put him down.  For that, I am very thankful!

As far as sleep goes, it’s still hit and miss. Bo needs a pretty early bedtime these days so I usually put him down around 7:30pm. I’m still up with him 1-2 times per night. He did give me a nice present for his five-month birthday, though. A 9 hour stretch!!! Yep, last night he slept through from 10:30pm-7:30am. And so did I. Woohoo!

In other transition news, we started using the “big boy” seat for the stroller last week.  Up until now, we had been using the infant car seat with the stroller attachment.  With the hot summer weather, I thought he’d be more comfortable in the stroller seat instead.  He seems happy in it so no problems there.

We’ve been working on sitting up (supported) which isn’t going terribly well.  He tends to bend forward, rather than tip over backwards, which is actually quite amusing.  Not sure what he’s attempting to do, but he’ll happily sit there, with his cheek smashed into the floor.  What a goofball.

Breastfeeding is still going well, so I’ve decided not to rush into starting solids.  I think I’ll wait until closer to the six-month mark this time around (Littleman started at 4.5 months).  Since we’ve pretty much given up on the bottle, I’m trying to offer him a sippy cup instead.  At this stage, I’m feeling like I might as well try that, rather than push the bottle.  The first try was a little messy.  He didn’t hate it, but not sure he actually swallowed anything.

His favourite person in the world is still his big brother.  I swear, the smile Bo gives Littleman each morning is the best thing ever.  Those two love each other so much and it makes me happier than I could have ever imagined.

20140805-205949-75589074.jpg

20140805-205949-75589500.jpg

20140805-205950-75590873.jpg

20140805-205949-75589972.jpg

20140805-205950-75590508.jpg

Leave a Reply

