Sleeping like a baby

After three nights in the crib, I think I can safely say that Bo’s transition was pretty painless. At least for him. I’m still not so sure. I miss him!

As much as I loved having him right next to me, I have to admit that he seems much more comfortable now. I suppose it’s similar to how we feel sleeping on an air mattress vs a real bed.

Unfortunately, Bo’s comfort doesn’t seem to translate to longer sleep. He’s still doing max 3.5hrs at a time, which usually means I’m up twice in the night with him.

Each morning, D asks how the night went. (He typically sleeps right through any of our wake-ups now). When I tell him, his response is usually “that’s not too bad!”

I have to bite my tongue because, while I know it could be worse, when was the last time he had to get up a couple of times a night – every night – to feed a baby? Never. Knowing that he got a full night’s sleep when I’m totally exhausted and then hearing his assessment of my night just irritates me. I realize my irritation is more likely a product of my exhaustion than actual annoyance at him, so I try to be mature and not react.

All of this is to say that I could really use a bit more sleep. I’m glad that Bo seems to have adjusted to nights in his crib without major setback but hope he can start going a bit longer between feeds soon. This mama needs it!

P.S. Am listening to a ’90s station on satellite radio right now. It’s reminding me of when I was a teenager and could sleep literally all day. Imagine sleeping in til noon. Or later…

2 thoughts on “Sleeping like a baby

  1. Okay, this made me giggle, because I LITERALLY just told my coworker about how this morning Charlie said “Harvey must have slept through the night last night!” I looked at him a little incredulously, and said, “Well ya, except when I got up to nurse him at 11 and 3.”

    Men.

    You’re not alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

