On this day

When I saw the news this morning, I was reminded that Prince George is one year old today. I remember so clearly where I was when I learned of his birth.

I was almost nine weeks pregnant. I was living in constant fear and nervousness after losing baby #2 to miscarriage at 14 weeks. But this pregnancy was going well and the light spotting I’d had a few days before appeared to be nothing. I’d had an ultrasound and seen my baby’s heart beating.

So where was I when the world heard the news that Will and Kate’s baby had been born? In the ER.

I wrote about that scary day here, but the gist of it is that I had some gushing blood that morning and was terrified that I was miscarrying again. After a long, long day at the hospital, I was diagnosed with a subchorionic bleed.

As I write this, I’m looking at my beautiful 4.5 month old baby boy, who has no idea how scared I was that day that I might not get to meet him. But here we are, a whole year later.

On this day last year, I was watching the news in a hospital waiting room, fearing the worst. Today, as I see stories about Prince George’s birthday on the news, I feel so lucky to be holding my own sweet, cuddly prince.

4 thoughts on “On this day

  1. Great story! I had a similar miscarriage followed by a rather “spotty” (and stressful) start to my current pregnancy. Saw Prince George’s birthday on the magazine stand and hoped to have a little prince or princess too! (Approaching 18 weeks, so I’m feeling optimistic!)

    • Congratulations on your pregnancy! Glad to hear it’s going well. Spotting is scary – especially after you’ve experienced a miscarriage. Wishing you all the best.

Leave a Reply

