What’s normal?

Recently, I realized that I haven’t paid much attention to what Bo “should” be doing. What I mean is that, this time around, I haven’t cracked open my week-by-week-type books that tell me what to expect in terms of my baby’s development.

When Littleman was a baby, i pretty much read all the baby books cover to cover. I definitely find myself to be more laid-back this time around. I know that not every baby is a textbook case. Bo seems to be thriving and, while I don’t know exactly when he’s supposed to hit each milestone, I feel pretty confident that he falls within the normal range when it comes to his development.

So, you can imagine my surprise when I stumbled across one of my baby books this morning and opened it up to the “Week 19” chapter.

20140715-194315-70995766.jpg
What!? 2.5 hours of crying a day? Well, this is one area of “normal” that I’m happy to report that Bo does not meet. In fact, I don’t think he cries for 2.5 hours in a week.

I don’t want to sound braggy to anyone who has a crier out there, but this kid just doesn’t cry. (And I bet your kid is rolling onto his tummy or sleeping through the night or drinking from a bottle or something else that my kid can’t do, so let’s call it even).

Anyway, seeing that just reinforced my belief that I don’t need a book to tell me that my kid is doing ok. Sure, it can be a good reference when I have a question or am unsure about something but it can also be stressful if you think your baby should be doing exactly what the book says.

I’ve watched enough of my friends have kids that I know each child is different. For example, my older son hated purées when we introduced him to them at 4.5 months. In fact, he pretty much hated food until we started giving him things with texture.

On the other hand, I’ve seen friends’ babies who gobbled up bowls full of baby cereal and other purées. They’d eat anything you offered them!

I know babies who crawled early and babies who never crawled at all (including me!). I know 2-year-olds who are fully toilet trained and 3-year-olds still in diapers.

Clearly, then, there’s a bit of a range when it comes to what’s “normal.” I’m glad I’m able to not stress about it too much and to just enjoy each milestone as it happens.

2 thoughts on “What’s normal?

  1. There’s definitely a large range for “normal.” Although I’m generally a worrier, I’m not worried about when my daughter will reach certain milestones. She’s been rolling back to belly for a long time, but still can’t roll the other way. She is no where near STTN or sitting up unassisted, but she uses her hands well, giggles away like crazy, and is very “chatty” and social. All fine with me (well, I could use some help in the sleeping department!).
    Crying for 2.5 hours a day seems excessive to me though. My girl cries here and there. At home with me, it’s rarely more than 30 seconds to a minute at a time. Nowhere near an hour. At daycare, I’ll bet she cries a total of 30 minutes or so a day (I hate thinking about that!). I can’t imagine it’s really typical for babies this age to cry 2.5 hours a day!!! I thought “colic” was defined by babies crying over 3 hours a day, which is not far off 2.5.
    Anyway, I’m with you on being laid back about these milestones. At least so far!

  2. I haven’t cracked a book open this time either! I just don’t feel like I have the time 🙂 I know G reached milestones a little sooner than “normal”. L seems to be growing and thriving in his own way so I’m not really concerned about anything this time. (Ok that is a lie, I was concerned with L not really rolling over yet, but I just read something saying some babies skip it and I felt better. Dude can move despite not rolling!)

Leave a Reply

