Back to reality

We’ve come to the end of a 10-day vacation at our family farm. It was a great week but I think we’re all ready to get back to real life for a while.

Littleman had so much fun this week. But I’ve noticed, in the last couple of days, he’s become a bit difficult. In fact, this morning he was being a complete shithead. (Don’t get me wrong, I love my kid and he’s a really good boy, but he was being a total punk earlier!)

Generally, Littleman is very well-behaved. He’s a happy kid and, while he has a tendency to be a bit bossy with us, he’s usually game to go along with anything we need/want to do. I think the problem we’re facing right now is due to the fact that we just had a week of unstructured fun and lots of ice cream. Naps were sporadic. Bedtimes were out of whack. Dinner was later than usual.

All of a sudden, the happy-go-lucky kid started saying “no!”, having epic meltdowns and waking up in the middle of the night (which I obviously don’t need when I’m already getting up to nurse a 4-month-old!)

I’ve noticed myself getting annoyed and snapping at him. I have to remind myself that he’s only 3. And that he needs structure.

Today, we came home and tomorrow it’s back to daycare. Hopefully a schedule and some regular activities (and less treats!) will help get things back to normal. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

