Why the cry?

This morning I realized how lucky I’ve been these past few months.

I know I’ve said more than a few times that Bo is a really happy, easy baby.  But seriously, this kid is extremely easy-going.  He truly never cries.  Barely makes a squawk.  He smiles a ton and whimpers a tiny bit if he’s uncomfortable.  There isn’t much that bothers him.  If he’s hungry, he smacks his lips and turns his head to the side.  If he’s tired, he generally just yawns and goes to sleep wherever he is.

That’s why I felt so bad for him this morning.  He put my mommy skills to the test for the first time when he cried for over an hour for no apparent reason.  He started fussing when I was talking on the phone to my mom.  Then he had a major diaper blowout.  I assumed that was what was bugging him.  After I cleaned him all up, I figured he would be fine.  Nope.  Still fussing.  I tried to nurse him but he wanted nothing to do with the breast.  In fact,  he got downright pissed off and started screaming.  I tried burping him, thinking maybe he had gas.  I gave him some gripe water.  I walked around with him.  Tried feeding him again.  Tried putting him down for a nap.  Tried singing.  Tried rocking.  Changed his diaper again.  Nothing helped and the poor kid was so upset.

Finally, finally, he let out a tiny little burp.  Nothing major and I don’t know if that was all that was making him upset, but it seemed to be enough to allow him to settle down and eat.  He nursed for about 4 minutes before passing out from sheer exhaustion.

I guess I’d kind of forgotten what it’s like to have a baby that cries.  I tried to stay calm but I’m not gonna lie.  It gave me the sweats.

I know I probably sound totally obnoxious to anyone who has a baby right now.  If this is a normal occurrence for you, you probably think I’m totally nuts.  And I know it’s normal for a lot of people.  It was for me with my first son.

Anyway, I hope the little guy wakes up from his nap feeling better.  Not just for my sake, but for his.  I hate seeing my happy little man so worked up and not knowing what to do to fix it.  It breaks my heart.

Leave a Reply

