To sleep or not to sleep?

That is the question.  Or, at least, it seems to be the question my 15-week-old asks himself each night.  He still hasn’t decided whether he intends to be a good sleeper or not.

It’s funny how sleep is the first thing people ask you about when they know you have a young baby.  “Getting any sleep?” is probably the phrase I hear the most these days.

On Sunday night, Bo slept for 8 hours, uninterrupted.  Aside from some mild discomfort in my breasts (i.e. they were about to explode!) it was dreamy.  The next few nights….the longest stretch he’s gone is four hours, followed by 1.5 or 2 hour stints.  I wish there was something I could do to get him to sleep longer again (even 5 or 6 hours would be nice!) but I know I just have to wait it out.

When it comes to night time, we’re doing things a bit differently this time around.  Bo is still sleeping in our room in his bassinet.  With Littleman, I would scoop him out of his bassinet when he awoke, carry him to his room, change his diaper and then feed him in the glider.  The problem with that?  I think it caused him to wake up more than was necessary.  I often had a hard time getting him back to sleep, usually having to rock him or even walk around with him until he was out cold. With Bo, if he wakes up, I scoop him up and into bed with me to feed.  It remains dark and we barely have to move.  When I’m done feeding him (he’s a pretty fast eater – usually less than 10 mins), I burp him gently and then I set him back down in his bassinet.

I know that we’re going to have to move Bo into his own room soon.  He’s growing so quickly and will soon outgrow his bassinet.  I’m not looking forward to having to trek down the hall for the nighttime feeds.  I’ll miss snuggling in bed with him in the middle of the night.  I don’t find the glider as comfortable for feeding, since I’ve been using a different position for nursing this time around.

But maybe moving him into his crib in his own room will help him sleep longer.  Maybe we’re inadvertently waking him up during the night.  We both get up to pee once or twice in the night and perhaps we bug him.

Or maybe moving him will cause him to wake up even more often.  Maybe his crib will feel to big and open for him and he’ll wonder where we are.

Regardless of what happens, at least I feel like I’m getting a bit better at managing my own sleeping.  Last night, I actually went to bed before Bo!  He just didn’t seem interested in falling asleep, so he hung out with D while I went to bed. And, I think I just generally cope better with sleep deprivation than I did the first time around. (Perhaps because I forget what it’s like not to be sleep deprived?)

I know this whole sleep business will eventually sort itself out (or we will eventually decide to do some sort of sleep training) but for now I’ll take what I can get.

20140619-201828-73108327.jpg

Leave a Reply

