Aren’t you going to get bored?

Today’s my first official day of maternity leave.  I’m not gonna lie – it feels pretty darn great.  I’m 37w 5d pregnant today, meaning my EDD is still a little more than two weeks away.

When people hear that I still have a couple of weeks to go, often their reaction is “aren’t you going to get bored?”  or “I could never sit at home that long waiting for my baby” or “I’d be way too anxious to  stop working that early.”

Not me.  First of all, I can’t remember the last time I was bored.  With a three-year-old at home, I don’t get much (read: any) time to myself.  I can think of lots of things to fill my time.  Second, I don’t expect this baby to stay put too much longer.  But, even if he does, I will happily embrace any bit of time I get to relax at home by myself before our little one arrives.

I don’t find myself feeling terribly anxious about when the baby will come.  The only time that would not be ideal for us is if D is working night shift.  I had a minor scare on Saturday night when I spend a few hours having contractions that were about 7-10 minutes apart.  It was enough to keep me awake but not enough for me to feel like things were really progressing.  It finally settled down and then stopped all together sometime around 3:30 a.m.  I was pretty relieved because I didn’t want to have to call the fire station to make D come home and wake up my parents to come watch Littleman.  That stretch of night shifts is finally over so we have another week before D works nights again.

Anyway, I spent the first morning of mat leave at the hospital for my weekly OB appointment.  Nothing exciting to report.  It seems that my weight gain has plateaued, which is just fine with me.  I think I’ve gained about the same amount overall as I did with Littleman’s pregnancy (30 lbs).  Dr. P suggested I start walking to help the baby drop down some more.  With all the ice and slush outside, I certainly won’t be doing any outdoor walking so I’ll have think about hitting up a mall at some point…

After the appointment, just because we could, D and I went out for a nice lunch.  Then, I watched Canada win two more medals at the Olympics.  I have to say, this baby is timed very well to allow me to watch the Olympics live!

So, it’s possible that I’ll change my mind about the whole boredom thing if Baby Bo still hasn’t arrived in a couple of weeks but, for now, I am very much enjoying the fact that I don’t have to do anything or go anywhere if I don’t want to.

6 thoughts on “Aren’t you going to get bored?

  1. If I had a year of leave (and 8 months of that paid) I would take a whole month off before my due date! I was really trying to work up until the last minute because I wanted more time with my baby, not because I thought I’d get bored! The two days I did have at home before he came (and when my daughter was still at school) were amazing. I still look back fondly on them, even now. Enjoy this time! I hope you do get a week or so to relax. It’s really nice. 😉

    • I would do the same as you and maximize my time with the baby if I had less time off. Luckily, I have the opportunity to enjoy some self-time first, so I definitely plan to enjoy it!

  2. I took a month off before my daughter was born, but that was probably because my job is so physically demanding, I just couldn’t do it anymore. Even then, with no child at home, I was never bored. There’s always stuff to do. Enjoy your time… Things are about to get very busy!

Leave a Reply

