Last day!

This is it.  My last day of work before starting my maternity leave.  It’s kind of hard to believe.  I feel like I’ve been working towards February 7 for months and months. 

I am certainly excited to get out of here and to stop having to commute in this miserable winter weather.  However, today is also a bit stressful.  My manager (who is pretty useless and difficult at the best of times) has not hired a replacement for me yet (in fact, we’re still down a team member from when someone left in October!)  So, although I’m about to walk away from here for a year, I still haven’t been able to tell any of my clients and colleagues who they can contact in my absence.  Ugh.  It feels so unprofessional.  At least I’ve done as much prep work as I can possibly do for the upcoming couple of months, so hopefully my other team members won’t feel too overwhelmed when they have to carry the extra load.

Other than that, I’m very relieved to be done and to have made it to this point.  For a while there, I was afraid I was going to have to stop work early.  At this point, I’m about 2 1/2 weeks away from my due date, which is fine with me.  If the baby comes right away, that’s ok.  If he decides to hang out in there for a while longer, I’ll enjoy my time at home waiting for him.

I also feel very grateful for the maternity leave that I get.  I read about so many moms in other countries having to go back to work only weeks after their babies are born.  I can’t imagine how hard it must be to part from your baby so quickly.  I have so much respect for those moms who have to find childcare for their little ones and who are pumping at work so that they can continue to breastfeed their babies.  I can only imagine how hard that must be. 

I know how lucky I am to get to take a full year off.  My company offers a very good maternity leave top-up, so I’ll be getting close to 100% of my pay for almost eight months.   And I’ll get to spend my baby’s first year at home with him.

So, wish me luck as I attempt to wrap things up and get the hell out of this office.  I am so done!

7 thoughts on “Last day!

  1. Sorry. That was rude. I’m just flabbergasted. I’m definitely living in the wrong country.

    I’m so half you’re done and can focus on yourself and your family and the baby who could come any day. I hope you enjoy your time off both before and after your little one arrives.

    • Not rude at all! We get a year of Employment Insurance and some companies will “top up” your salary for a specified amount of time. I definitely realize how lucky we are here. It’s amazing.

  2. Congrats! That IS exciting! I am done as of this coming Friday and I am READY. Unfortunately, we only get 12 weeks here, but I am stretching it out by doing 8 weeks full time leave, then going back for 8 weeks at part time. My husband is only working part time right now so we can work it to go without daycare for awhile at least.

Leave a Reply

