36 weeks

This is the week where my pregnancy tracker app tells me that the baby is the size of a watermelon.  Eek!  That’s so big!  And speaking of baby’s size, at my OB appointment today, I asked Dr. P if he could tell anything about how big Baby Bo may be.  He said that he seems about average.  My fundal height is one cm smaller than “normal” but he said that it’s perfectly the fine.  I know that, at this point, he’s really only just guessing about the size.  The only reason I asked is because I’m curious if I’m going to have another giant baby.  Littleman was born at 39 weeks, weighing 9lbs 5oz!

I had to do my Group B Strep test today.  I still vividly remember the first time I had to do it.  It was one of those standard tests that was always mentioned in pregnancy books, but no detail was ever given, beyond the fact that it was a “swab.”  I guess I took that to mean it was sort of like a Pap, which is what I expected to happen.  However, when Dr. P told me it was time for the GBS test, he pulled out a tube containing a swab, handed it to me and sent me into the bathroom with the instructions of how to do it myself.  For anyone who hasn’t had this test yet, it requires a swab of both the vagina and the anus.  Yep.  That’s right.  I’m sure my face was priceless.  I remember stumbling awkwardly into the bathroom and standing there by myself, laughing.  Anyway, I gave my friends who already had kids an earful for not warning me about that one.  At least this time, I knew what was coming.

Symptoms:  The crappiest symptom this week has definitely been the acid reflux.  While it is especially annoying when I want to sleep, it’s starting to hit me at pretty much any time of the day.  Dr. P told me a few medications that are safe to use, so I stocked up today.  Given that I could have almost six more weeks of pregnancy left (although that would totally surprise me!) I want to make sure I have some options for fighting this symptom.

One pregnancy symptom that I’ve been lucky enough to avoid during both my pregnancies is swelling.  I’ve seen the women with the puffy ankles struggling to put on shoes and I’m relieved that I haven’t had to deal with that.  I am, however, starting to notice my rings getting a little snug.  I can still get them on and off, but they are definitely starting to leave a bit of a mark.  Perhaps it’s time to retire them until after the little guy gets here.

Sleep:  Just when I thought that my sleep couldn’t get any more interrupted, I caught a cold.  After a few days of dealing with the dry mouth, drooling and snorting, I find myself missing the sore hips and knees.  Oh well.  I don’t expect to sleep well again for a long, long time.  Might as well get used to it.

Other: Another baby boy was born on our street this week.  If you’re keeping count, that’s two in the last two weeks!  There are two of us left who are expecting before the end of March.  It will be fun to have some other mommies close by during my maternity leave.

3 thoughts on “36 weeks

  1. I did my own GBS swab, too. Not easy with that big belly…

    I had terrible reflux with all of my pregnancies- right from about six weeks on. It sucks… you have my sympathy.

Leave a Reply

