Complicated

Although things have been going smoothly with this pregnancy (at least ever since the subchorionic bleed episode a few months ago), I still find that I can’t truly relax.  I guess that’s because I know we’re not totally out of the woods yet.  Right now, I’m at the stage in this pregnancy where I first encountered some complications when I was pregnant with Littleman.   

At a routine OB appointment, Dr. P noticed that Littleman’s heart was skipping a beat.  He referred us to another area of the hospital right away, where we got an ultrasound and saw one of the high risk OB’s.  They did the ultrasound and, sure enough, the baby had an irregular heartbeat.

A few days later, we saw a fetal cardiologist who performed a fetal echo. That is where things got pretty scary.  The baby’s heart went nuts and his heart rate was 238 bpm!  She diagnosed him with SVT (supraventricular tachycardia).  This meant there were times when his heart rate was normal and then other times it would be extremely high. 

I remember lying there on the table and suddenly feeling like I was going to faint.  How could this be happening?  Was my baby going to be ok?

Apparently, though, there was a good chance the condition would correct itself by birth.  And, if not, most babies with SVT grow out of it by the first year.

I was put on medication to lower Littleman’s heart rate and had to be monitored much more closely to make sure that my heart rate wasn’t getting to low.  We had ultrasounds every two weeks and saw the fetal cardiologist for echos every month.  They wanted to make sure that he wasn’t still having episodes of rapid heart rate and that any previous episodes hadn’t caused any heart damage.

After I went on the medication, we didn’t experience any other issues for the rest of the pregnancy.  But, we definitely were a bit nervous to find out if the SVT would continue after birth or if it would correct itself.

Luckily, everything turned out fine.  We had a NICU team in the room for Littleman’s delivery in case there were any complications.  When he was delivered safely and healthily, we were able to take him home with no medication.  We saw the cardiologist for a follow-up a couple of weeks after he was born and everything looked good.  He’s had no issues since then.

So, all of that is to say that , as thankful as I am for having a healthy pregnancy so far, I’ll never stop worrying that something could go wrong.  I’m glad that I’m heading into the phase of pregnancy where my OB appointments get closer together.  Having the regular reassurance that the baby is OK really helps with my mental health!

One thought on “Complicated

  1. Having a history of complications definitely robs us of feeling true joy during subsequent pregnancies. I know that if I were to actually achieve a sticky pregnancy again, I would probably suffer a certain amount of post traumatic stress during the pregnancy, since my daughter had a stroke two days after birth. It’s hard not to be mindful of those worst case scenarios when you have already been there. One day at a time. That’s all you can do. Hang in there…

Leave a Reply

