Winter blues

I know it’s not even officially “winter” yet, but I hate winter already.  I hate being cold.  I hate bundling up in too many clothes but still not being able to feel my fingers, my toes or my nose.  I hate snow, wind and slush.  I spent a year in Australia when I was in my early twenties and that just confirmed for me that I was born in the wrong part of the world!

Sure, snow can be pretty.  It’s lovely to look outside at some clean, freshly fallen snow when you’re all warm in your house.  But that’s pretty rare.  Usually I’m looking at ugly slushy grey snow piled up on the side of the road as I trudge to the bus stop. 

Anyway, this rant comes because we’re heading into the snowy time of year so I had to go out and purchase some new winter boots yesterday.  They are big, puffy and ugly.  (Sounds vaguely familiar?  Yes, they look kind of like my maternity winter coat!)  The main reason for the purchase (and the ugliness) is that I needed boots that I could pretty much just step into.  No laces.  No zippers.  I’ve hit the point in my pregnancy where bending at the waist has become quite a challenge.  My attempts to zip up boots lead to grunting and groaning that no one wants to hear.  So, I wandered through the shoe section of a large downtown department store yesterday looking for a pair of boots that I could get myself into.  There were tons of super cute winter boots to choose from if I could tolerate zipping or tying, but I knew that would be a bad idea.  I guess retailers don’t think maternity footwear is a necessary invention, but they clearly aren’t thinking about winter wear! 

I managed to find a suitable pair that will do the trick, although they will require me to throw all fashion sense out the window.  I suppose it’s safer to choose function over fashion for the next few months but, believe me, I will be buying a cuter pair as soon as I can bend again!

Is it almost spring?

2 thoughts on “Winter blues

  1. I’m hating it so far this year, too. Probably because I can’t run with the stupid pneumonia. Ugh. I do love running on those quiet winter mornings with fresh snow on the ground, and I love to ski… can you tell I’m trying really, really hard to enjoy the season? Sigh…

Leave a Reply

