26 weeks

The past week was challenging but Littleman seems to have recovered from his illness and, miraculously, I have managed to avoid catching it.  After a couple of solid nights of sleep, we were all in better moods by the time Monday morning rolled around.

And then Monday morning brought with it a whole new set of challenges: building Ikea furniture!  D and I dropped Littleman and daycare and set to work on clearing out our spare bedroom (aka storage room), which will soon become Littleman’s big boy room.  I will write a separate update about our progress, but let me just say that my poor body is actually happy to be back at the office today.  Crawling around on my hands and knees to assemble furniture while pregnant is a lot harder than I anticipated.  I was in a good amount of pain by the end of the two days!

Other than that, here’s what’s been going on this week…

Symptoms:  Should I even bother saying how tired I am?  Nothing new there.  I’ve also started noticing that I’m getting more frequent Braxton Hicks contractions.  I don’t really remember this from my first pregnancy, although I probably wasn’t as aware of what was going on with my body that time around.  They certainly aren’t painful but the tightening of my belly is definitely noticeable. 

Fetal movement:  This kid is definitely getting stronger by the day.  My app says he’s the size of a cucumber, but he sure can kick (or punch?)  Sometimes it actually feels a bit uncomfortable, but I love it anyway.  I love the reminder that the little guy is getting big and strong in there!

Other: I cracked out my maternity winter coat today.  I squeezed myself into my regular winter coat last week, but it was pretty uncomfortable, so I decided it was time for the Big Ugly.  That’s really the only way to describe my new coat.  It’s big, black and puffy.  But it was cheap and, for three months of use, that’s all I really care about.

Leave a Reply

