Finally Friday

Today is one of those days where TGIF is especially meaningful.  We’ve had a looooonnngg week.

Littleman’s cold got worse and his coughing was keeping all of us up at night.  D took him to the doctor on Wednesday and it turns out he has croup and an eye infection.  Poor little guy!  He’s been so miserable.  The pediatrician prescribed a one-dose steroid cough syrup that worked wonders and he finally was able to nap yesterday – for five hours!! 

D had to work night shift last night, so I left work early to be home with Littleman.  I couldn’t believe how long he was napping.  When he finally woke up at 5:30 though, he was a total mess.   He stood in his crib and screamed “I want daddy!” for almost an hour.   He refused to come to me. 

I’m not gonna lie – that felt bad.  He’s become quite the daddy’s boy lately.  I think it’s especially due to the fact that mommy is always around but there are lots of times that daddy isn’t.  As a firefighter, we have long stretches where D is home, but then big chunks of time where we don’t see him for a few a days.   The other day, someone who already has two kids suggested that I try getting Littleman used to spending time with his dad before the new baby comes.  I had to laugh at that one.  That certainly isn’t a problem for us!

Anyway, once Littleman finally settled down (after I wrestled him into a clean diaper and pinned him to the ground to apply his eyedrops) we had a pretty good evening.  And then, lo and behold, he slept through the night!  Woohoo!  I don’t think I even knew how much I needed that until I woke up this morning feeling semi-normal for the first time in a week. 

I’m hoping he’s well enough to go back to daycare on Monday.  I’ve booked vacation days for Monday and Tuesday for Operation Big Boy Room, take two.  To give you a sense of what we need to tackle, I’ve taken a “before” pic of our spare bedroom in its current state:

Wow, we have way too much stuff!

Wow, we have way too much stuff!

No, this is not an ad for an episode of Hoarders.  I almost took a photo of another room in our house, just to prove that we aren’t really that disgusting, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.  Fingers crossed that we’ll make some good progress next week.

And, as a follow-up to my public transit rant the other day, I’ve continued to notice the rudeness of people.  I’ve been offered a seat for the past two mornings, but not by any of the people who I’m standing in front of.  Both days, older women have reached across the people sitting near them to tap my arm and offer me their seat.  The fully able-bodied young men who are sitting there just watch as the whole thing unfolds.  Ugh.  I suppose I can’t expect much better behaviour from people in a city that can’t manage to get our crack smoking, drunk driving, potty mouthed mayor to step down.

2 thoughts on “Finally Friday

  1. Yikes – sounds like a rough week!! It’s rough when they want their daddy and not you, isn’t it? But it sounds like they have a great relationship, which is so wonderful. Good luck getting the room ready next week – an exciting project!!

Leave a Reply

