25 weeks

15 weeks to go!  This time of year always flies by quickly and I’m especially appreciative of it this year.  Dragging myself to work these days is a total pain in the arse and I know that it’s only going to get tougher as the weather gets worse.

Speaking of getting to work, I feel like I live in constant fear of my commute.  I’m not a fan of riding public transit at the best of times, but during pregnancy, it just totally sucks.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stood on the subway for eight whole stops without anyone offering me a seat.  Our subway system is totally packed during rush hour (which, to be more accurate, should be called “rush three hours”) and people are ruthless when it comes to seating.  The other day, for example, someone finally noticed me and my belly about five stops in.    She gave me her seat.  I thanked her loudly and profusely (mainly for the benefit of all the other assholes who had pretended not to notice me).  Then, a couple of stops later, a woman standing near me started to look ill.  She crouched down on the ground, obviously feeling like she was going to faint.  I looked around and realized that the assholes were going to ignore her too.  So, I got up and gave her my seat.  Yep, that’s right.  The pregnant lady gave her seat to the sick woman.  What is wrong with people???

Anyway, the point of the rant is really just to say that I’ll be very happy when my commuting days are done.  In fact, I put in my maternity leave request form last week with my last day of work currently scheduled for February 7.  Less than three months to go!!

Symptoms:  I am so friggin’ exhausted right now.  While being pregnant obviously doesn’t help, the main culprit is Littleman’s cold, which is waking us all up every hour or so all night.  Also, I seemed to have a brief reprieve from the acne, but sadly, it has returned.  I now have a lovely collection of spots scattered around my mouth.  Ugh.

Fetal movement:  I was in a meeting this week when, all of a sudden, my belly started jumping around.  I was the only one that noticed it, of course, but it was definitely visible from the outside.  I’m happy that the movement is finally getting stronger and that I’m feeling it throughout the day (not just when lying in bed).

Other: I’m having a bit of an aversion to meat this week.  I first noticed it after D offered to BBQ hamburgers the other night and I opted for soup instead.  Then, last night, I made pork tenderloin.  It looked and smelled good, but I gagged as soon as I put it in my mouth.  Even dipped in apple sauce, I couldn’t choke it down.  Oh well, back to the white, white carbs for me, I guess.

4 thoughts on “25 weeks

  1. What drives me INSANE is it always seems to be really elderly women who offer me their seats. I can never take them. Either that or people will offer me a seat much faster if it’s not rush hour. Still, there’s something really troubling at people looking at my face, then my belly, then quickly down to their book or music player. If you don’t see me, fine. If you see me, know you’re supposed to give up your seat and quickly look away in hopes that I don’t notice you noticing I’m preggo…well, that’s a different story altogether…

    • My experiences have been totally the same. It’s always older women who offer seats, even though there are many fully capable men sitting right there. I get it if they don’t see me, but I can tell when they notice me and then look away. So rude!!

Leave a Reply

