Not quite as planned

Today is Remembrance Day in Canada.  As an employee of a government agency, I get the day off.  It’s always been one of my favourite “holidays”, in that the general public still goes to work and schools are still open.  It means a day at home to get things done without the crowds of the weekends.

This year, I was especially looking forward to this day.  We have a ton of work to do to get Littleman’s big boy room ready and I wanted to get a jump-start on it.  D (as a firefighter and former military) had a parade to participate in, so I was planning to drop Littleman and daycare and have a day alone.  Completely alone.  All by myself!

Unfortunately, that was not meant to be.  On Saturday night – after  a lovely evening with my parents, sister and brother-in-law, celebrating my dad’s birthday – Littleman woke up with a raging fever and cough.  We were up for most of the night.  Then, he spent yesterday with a raspy chest and just some general miserableness (is that a word?  If not, it should be.)

Prepping the birthday cake - before the illness struck.

Prepping the birthday cake – before the illness struck.

So, while he had a bit of a better night last night and seems to be on the mend, I had to keep him home with me today.  My mom came over to keep us company and we managed to do a tiny bit of sorting in the spare room (soon-to-be big boy room), but it wasn’t nearly as successful a day as I had planned.

Oh well.  This serves as a good reminder that planning and parenthood don’t always belong in the same sentence!  Plus, the poor sleeping gave me a good preview of what I have to look forward to in a few more months.  Yikes, I had forgotten how bad it feels to function on only a couple of broken hours of sleep.

Anyway, the one positive from the weekend was getting to catch up with my sister, who lives out of town.  Since she’s pregnant with her first baby and it was fun to see how she looked.  Here is a bump shot of the two of us at approximately 24 weeks pregnant (we’re due in the same week in February!):

24 weeks!  I'm on the left and my sister is on the right.

24 weeks! I’m on the left and my sister is on the right.

3 thoughts on “Not quite as planned

  1. I’m so sorry LM was so sick. My daughter has been gone two of the days of each of the three weeks of my new son’s life. She just keeps getting sick and it’s so hard to manage a newborn and a sick toddler! Having a baby at the beginning of flu/cold season was not great timing. 😉

    How fun that you and your sister are due at exactly the same time! Amazing! I love the picture. I hope both of for pregnancies continue to go well.

  2. Ugh. My daughter has been sick as well. She had a nasty, productive cough for six weeks, was well for one week, and now she has pink eye. Sigh…

    You two look great! How fun is that- you’re going to have kids exactly the same age!

  3. Pingback: Finally Friday | Another bun (in the oven)?

Leave a Reply

