20 weeks

Well, here we are at the halfway point of my pregnancy.  It’s kind of hard to believe, although in some ways it feels like I’ve been pregnant forever.  (Perhaps that’s because I have been pregnant for 8 months already in 2013!)

My pregnancy app finally tells me that Bo is no longer the size of a mango, but has moved on to a banana.  I find these fruit comparisons a little odd, but for some reason I still look forward to seeing what comes next.

Obviously, this week’s big news was our anatomy scan and finding out that Bo is a baby boy!   My sister had her scan as well and found out that she’s having a girl.  This may come out sounding all wrong, but telling people I’m having another boy has been hard.  It’s almost like everyone is a bit disappointed.  Like they assume that the perfect scenario is to have one of each, and that having two boys isn’t as ideal.  I know that I’m probably reading into things, but I can’t help feel weird about people’s reactions.  They say things like, “well, at least you won’t have to buy as much stuff” or “you already know what it’s like to have a boy” or even “you’ll have to try for another!”   I think this blog is the only place where people have truly seemed happy for me that it’s a boy.

Perhaps part of it is my own ever-so-slight sadness that I’ll never have a daughter.  I would have loved to have a girl.  But I’m thrilled to have two little boys.  Having a son has been so much more rewarding than I ever imagined and knowing I’m having another son makes my heart burst.   Regardless of all of this, it’s great to finally know that Bo is a boy.

At my OB appointment, Dr. P gave me the results from my IPS (Integrated Prenatal Screening) testing.  The results looked very good, with my odds of the baby having Down syndrome put at 1/2,200.    

Other than that, things continue to chug along.  Here’s a roundup of the usual stuff…

Symptoms:  I’m getting pretty frequent headaches these days.  Doc says to take Tylenol with some caffeine, and that‘s about all I can do.  Still tired all the time and still breaking out.  Had my first bout of heartburn last night after dinner, which was terribly uncomfortable.  Must remember not to eat so much… 

Clothing: I’m starting to get bored of my wardrobe already, which doesn’t bode well for the next few months.  I had a successful attempt at wearing maternity tights with a skirt yesterday (using my cami trick to hold them up).   The pants that seem to fit the best these days are the ones that go under my belly.  Unfortunately, they also make me look like I have a bad case of muffin top because my bump is still pretty soft (especially in the morning).  I hate feeling like I just look flabby, but the full panel pants (which I generally love) are still a bit too big for me these days.  Spending the day hiking the panel up to my boobs looks even more awkward than the muffin top!

Fetal movement:  Movement is still pretty limited, although at least I feel something every day.  Dr. P told me that, at this stage, I’ll only be feeling about 10% of Bo’s movements.  When he listened to the heartbeat with the Doppler, we could hear a bunch of wooshing and other sounds.  He told me that was movement, although I couldn’t feel a thing.  I’m still waiting for the moment that it gets strong enough for D to feel it on the outside.

 

6 thoughts on “20 weeks

  1. People are weird! My friend had two boys and I know she was a little disappointed that her second was a boy, but I said “to me, I see you as a mom with two boys!” I just don’t get why people have to make everything negative. I think it’s absolutely wonderful you are having a boy and that you are pregnant and happy and healthy. I’d do anything to have those three things. I guess those of us here just understand how difficult it is and we appreciate it all more.

  2. Yes, I think others assume pregnancy is easy and that it results in getting what you want, all of the time. Personally, this is part of the reason I don’t want to find out – people have a harder time expressing disappointment at a second boy when the child is out of the uterus! But whatever, screw what other people think, I mean really!!

  3. 20 weeks! Congrats!

    Isn’t it incredible what people will project on other people’s situations? I have a daughter and am now having a son and everyone thinks that is just the BEST. THING. EVER! I get all the, “one of each!” and “perfect family” comments. It really bothers me. I thought having two girls would be great. I actually had a hard time wrapping my head around having a boy and I still wonder if their relationship will suffer for it. Of course I’m thrilled to be having a boy but it’s just not what I know and the uncertainty is hard. Anyway, I too have been struck by the audacity of other people’s comments. It’s really nuts what they say.

  4. I’ve heard people make those comments to other pregnant women, and it has always annoyed me. It’s like the baby is a consolation prize. “Oh well, at least you’ll already have boy clothes.” I get being disappointed about possibly never having a daughter– I had those same feelings. But I think having two boys (or two girls) is just as exciting as having one of each. It’s wonderful to have siblings, and while brother-sister siblings can be close, I feel there’s a special bond between brothers and between sisters.
    Anyway… congrats on the half-way mark! Very exciting!

Leave a Reply

