Finding out

Until I got pregnant for the first time, I had never really put much thought into finding out the sex of my potential future babies.  It was just something that I always assumed I would do.

But, it turns out that people have VERY strong opinions about finding out versus being surprised.

I fall into the finding out camp.  I’m a planner.  I like to know things.  If something can be known – if someone else knows it – then I want to know too.  And, everything about pregnancy and childbirth was a surprise for me.  I didn’t feel like I really needed another one.  Luckily, my husband felt the same way so we didn’t have any debate about it.

I totally get that some people would prefer to be surprised.  That’s completely fair.  What I don’t get is why some people feel the need to push their opinion about it so heavily on others.  My sister was originally on the fence about finding out.  Then, for planning purposes, she decided that she wants to know.  But some people have been so rude to her about it, telling her not to find out and that her decision is terrible.  What?  Why do they care?  I feel sad that some of her friends/acquaintances are being such Debbie Downers and making her feel bad about something that she should be allowed to get excited about.

Anyway, all this is to say that finding out the sex of our baby in advance is a choice we get to make ourselves.  And, if all goes well, we will know on Monday if it’s another little boy or a little girl who will be joining our family.

When I was pregnant with Littleman, I felt very certain that I was carrying a boy from the very beginning.  I don’t know why, exactly, but I just sort of knew.  If they had told me it was a girl, I would have been flabbergasted.

This time, I don’t feel strongly either way.  D thinks it’s a girl, as do a couple of my other friends.  Others feel that it’s definitely another boy.  The old wives tales lean a little more towards girl, but I certainly don’t put much stock into those. 

A girl would be amazing because I have always been a bit of a girly-girl myself.  I am very close with my mother and having a daughter of my own would be wonderful.  But another boy would also be great.  I see how close some of the brothers are in our neighbourhood and I would love for Littleman to have that too. 

In the end, all we really wish for is a healthy and happy baby.  Boy or girl, we’ll find out in three more days!

2 thoughts on “Finding out

  1. Yeah, we decided to find out. No one has been overtly judgey, but there have been a few comments along the lines of, “Really? Huh.” that said more than the words. Me, I just wasn’t patient enough to wait until the end. And honestly, since I’ve been able to stop calling him “it,” I’ve felt myself bonding with the baby more.

  2. I just knew I was having a girl when I was pregnant with my daughter as well, though we decided not to find out. It was no surprise when hubby told me in the delivery room that it was a girl. I can’t believe people are that opinionated and judgemental on this topic. Who cares? It’s a personal decision.

    I’m feeling girl for you… can’t wait to hear the news!

Leave a Reply

