19 weeks

Sometimes it blows my mind that people can be so completely socially inept, yet still function in a regular workplace.  For example, yesterday I rode the elevator (a very, very full elevator) with our company’s receptionist.  Here’s how our conversation went:

Her: I didn’t know you were expecting!

Me: Yep.

Her: That’s soon!

Me: Excuse me?

Her: Isn’t your son only,  like, 2 or something?

Me: Yes.  He’ll be 3 when the baby is born.

Her (with raised eyebrows):  Oh.  Hmm.

What the eff was that?  To top it all off, my company’s CEO as well as my VP were among the crowd in the elevator.  First of all, I don’t think 3 years apart is terribly close together.  In fact, if things had gone as planned, my children would have been much closer together in age.  Second, the age gap of my children is none of her business (nor is it the business of the rest of people crammed into the stupid elevator).  Perhaps my pregnancy hormones, but I wanted to slap her silly!

In happier news, I just had the most delicious lunch.  It was a yummy caprese grilled cheese Panini (white bread, of course), with a jumbo organic pickle on the side.  Amazing!

A pregnant lady's dream lunch!

A pregnant lady’s dream lunch!

Symptoms:  At 19 weeks, the random bouts of nausea have almost completely subsided.  I am getting way too many headaches these days, but I do recall that happening a lot in the second trimester of Littleman’s pregnancy.  My mom and I heading off for a mini-vacation tomorrow.  We’re going on an overnight trip to a spa, so I’m hoping a prenatal massage and some relaxation will help a bit.

Clothing: I tried another brand of leggings.  These ones were less shiny (that’s the only way I can think of to describe the difference without knowing the type of material) than the first pair I tried.  They definitely stayed up better, but I found that they stretched out more throughout the day.  By the end of the day, the knees were pretty droopy.  Ugh.

I hit up Old Navy yesterday and managed to get a couple of decently priced cute tops and an inexpensive pair of dress pants, which will hopefully get me through the next little while.

Fetal movement:  Things are picking up on the movement front.  I finally started feeling some movement during the day – not just in the middle of the night.  It’s still super faint, but at least it’s recognizable as something more than just gas.  It brings me so much comfort to feel something actually going on in there.

Other: My next ultrasound is coming up on Monday.  Woohoo!!  This is our anatomy scan and the one where we can potentially find out the sex of the baby.  I plan to write more about my feelings about finding out if it’s a boy or a girl soon.

4 thoughts on “19 weeks

  1. Wow it is amazing how rude people can be. When those situations arise in my own life, I feel like I am never fast enough to throw a zinger back at them and only think of something afterwards.

    On the topic of leggings, I had decent luck with the Motherhood Maternity ones. I was also able to wear my Lulu Lemon ones below my belly for my entire pregnancy. They are expensive, but it might be worth looking into because you would be able to wear them afterwards, too! Good luck!

    • Thanks for the leggings recommendation. I’ll have to check out Motherhood! I’ve been worried about stretching out my lulus, so I haven’t been wearing them.

      I, too, wish that I had come up with a good response for the rude person, but I guess I was too stunned to think of something. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

