The plight of the the tights

As I was hiking up my sagging maternity leggings the other day, I was reminded of the first time I ever wore maternity tights.

I’ve always been a tights kind of girl.  In high school, I wore a school uniform so I dressed in a kilt and tights almost every day for five years.  As a working woman, I’m most comfortable in a dress or skirt with tights and boots.

When I first became pregnant with Littleman and my baby bump started to appear, I figured I’d be taking a hiatus from wearing skirts or dresses.  My second and third trimesters were during the fall and winter, so bare legs wouldn’t be an option.  I bought myself a few pairs of maternity dress pants and that’s what I wore most of the time.

Then, I discovered maternity tights when I was out shopping one day.  I thought, why not?  I had a black maternity dress that I had purchased earlier in my pregnancy but didn’t have the chance to wear it very much. 

So, one day, I threw on the dress, a pair of black maternity tights and my knee-high black boots.  Perfect.  My belly was quite large by this point but the outfit was totally cute (if I do say so myself!)

I waddled to the bus stop and rode the bus to the subway station.  As I stood on the subway platform waiting for the train to arrive, I could feel the tights starting to slip down a bit.  I tried to do some inconspicuous readjusting and managed to hike them back up enough for the time being. 

When I got off the subway, I had to walk a fair distance through a shopping area and office building to get to my office.  Again, I could feel the tights slipping.  But this time, there were far too many people around for me to stop and hike them up.  I kept on going.  By the time I reached the elevators, I could feel the crotch of tights between my knees.  I shuffled onto the elevator and bit my lip, trying not to laugh out loud on an elevator full of strangers. 

When the elevator finally arrived at my floor, I hobbled off as quickly as I could.  Luckily, no one else got off at my floor.  I burst out laughing.  Howling, actually.  I grabbed my tights and yanked them up enough to allow me to waddle-run to the bathroom.   

Once there, I wiped away my tears of laughter and tried to figure out what the hell I was going to do to get through the day.  There was just no way those tights were going to stay put on my big, smooth belly!  I considered removing the tights all together and going bare-legged, but I thought that might look a bit awkward with the knee-high boots.  Then, I discovered a solution.  I (quite luckily) was wearing a camisole under my dress.  I hiked up the tights as far as they would go, tucking the cami inside them.  The cotton cami provided some friction and was just enough grip to keep the tights in place. 

The maternity leggings that I cracked out earlier this week were definitely not as bad as those tights, but there’s nothing I hate more than feeling like my pants are falling down.  I suppose, in a pinch, I can try the cami trick again but I’m really hoping I can find some leggings that are able to stay put on their own.

6 thoughts on “The plight of the the tights

  1. Oh no! I was just going to order some maternity tights today, actually! I haven’t seen any in stores, so I was thinking of ordering them from Old Navy. What brand were yours? I want to steer clear of THAT situation! 🙂

  2. Just curious (although it doesn’t sound like it) did you ever have issues with “crotch drop” before being pregnant? The only tights I’ve ever been okay with have been of the super expensive ballet variety. I literally have worn thigh-highs and a garter belt since I was sixteen. If you manage to find a pair that stay put, please advise!

  3. I keep forgetting to look at the brand of mine – I got a pair at Target in the states recently that are great, and then a friend lent me another pair but I think they are from the UK. I hear great things about Boden, you can order online and they deliver to Canada.

  4. Pingback: 20 weeks | Another bun (in the oven)?

Leave a Reply

