16 weeks

Although my iPhone tells me my baby is the size of a turnip (or a pear, depending on the app) this week, I feel like it is much bigger.  My belly has definitely “popped” and there is no hiding the fact that I am expecting.  We’ve started to share our news, although I’m still only telling people on an “as needed” basis.  No email announcements, no Facebook declarations.

Here’s what’s been going on with me over the past week:

Symptoms:  Physically, my symptoms are still coming and going.  I still get hit with random waves of nausea (for example, right at this very moment, I feel like I could puke.)  Boobs are still a bit sore.  I’m still plagued by fatigue.  Sleeping is becoming more uncomfortable, with my back and hips starting to get a bit sore.  Luckily I still had my trusty pillow from my first pregnancy!

Clothing: Getting dressed has become a bit of an issue.  I caved and pulled out my maternity clothes, only to find that the pants are all massive.  Totally stretched out.  I guess that’s what happens when you wear them right up to 39 weeks gestation.  I dragged myself into the mall to see if I could find a pair of pants that fit.  I felt nervous being in the maternity sections, like somehow I would jinx myself.  But I knew I had to get something.  I ended up with one pair of black skinny jeans.  The weather subsequently warmed right up to summer heat wave temperatures, so I’ve been able to get away with my stretchy summer dresses and skirts this week.

Fetal movement: I think I’ve (maybe!) been feeling the baby move.  The past couple of nights (or more like very early in the mornings) I’ve woken up and, as I lay in bed, I’ve felt a couple of little pokes.  I’ve tried to lie very still in the evenings to see if I feel anything, but no such luck.  I’m hoping that I’ll start feeling more regular (or at least more obvious) movement sometime soon.

3 thoughts on “16 weeks

Leave a Reply

