That sweet, sweet sound

I didn’t have time to post an update after my OB appointment yesterday, but I’ll spare you the suspense: it went well!  We heard Bo/Janet’s heartbeat as soon as the doppler it hit my skin and it was a lovely 150 bpm.

Backing up to the beginning of the appointment, we started off with another student doctor.  He was a lovely young guy who did all the usual background stuff and went over my ultrasound and bloodwork results from last time.  Everything looked good.  Then he had me hop up onto the table so he could take my blood pressure.  Does anyone else wonder why they take our blood pressure before they listen for the heartbeat?  I mean, come on!  I’m totally stressed out and you expect my blood pressure to be normal?

Anyway, after that, he pulled out the tape measure for the first belly measurement of this pregnancy.  Apparently my “fundal height” is 15 cm, which is perfect for how far along I am. 

Then came the doppler.  I took a few deep breaths as he got ready to position the wand.  God, I hate this part.  Miraculously, the student doctor managed to place the wand in exactly the right the spot to find the heartbeat immediately.  Woohoo!  A+ buddy…. you should be top of your class!  D and I both felt extremely relieved.  My next appointment and anatomy scan are scheduled for a month from now, so that is our next big milestone to look forward to.

As I was getting dressed for work this morning, I realized that the time has come to tell some people.  I think I’ve been in denial about my growing bump but after trying and discarding a number of outfit options, I finally accepted the truth.  I can no longer hide my body.

15 weeks

15 weeks

So, I think I’ll be telling a few select colleagues today and then I’ll take it from there.  I know I’ll feel a bit sick as the words come out of my mouth, but I also know that a) they likely won’t be surprised at all and b) they will be nothing but happy and supportive.

Have a great weekend everyone!

4 thoughts on “That sweet, sweet sound

Leave a Reply

