12 weeks

With my first two pregnancies, reaching 12 weeks felt like such a big milestone.  It just doesn’t feel the same this time around.  Knowing that my last baby passed away around 12w5d (and after looking perfect on the NT scan) I feel like these next couple of weeks are going to be nerve-wracking. 

To be honest, my nerves have been getting the best of me for the past week.  My nausea has definitely subsided quite a bit, although it’s not completely gone (which, I admit, is a relief).  My first OB appointment is tomorrow and I’m definitely having some anxiety about that.  I’ve already spoken to Dr. P a couple of times during this pregnancy due to the early infections and the subchorionic bleed, but this will be the first time I see him.  His office hasn’t given me my ultrasound appointment yet, but I expect it will be sometime in this next week as well.  Since I don’t have an ultrasound scheduled for tomorrow, I sure hope Dr. P can find the heartbeat with the Doppler.  I really need that reassurance right now.

Symptoms are starting to lessen in general.  It seems like the worst was from 8-11 weeks and things have gotten a bit better since then.  I hope that’s not a bad sign…

Nausea: Some days I have none at all.  When it does show up, it’s back to the evenings only, rather than all day.

Vomiting: None to date.

Food cravings or aversions: I’ve found this incredibly delicious kale smoothie that I buy from a juice bar near the office.  It’s SO good.  I’ve had it two days in a row and I want another one RIGHT NOW.  I suppose that’s better than wanting a poutine everyday. But don’t get me wrong, I could totally eat a poutine right now too.

Aches and Pains: Boob pain is off and on.  Lower back has been a bit sore at the end of the day (could be a symptom of returning to work after vacation, rather than a pregnancy symptom!)

Fatigue:  Littleman finally slept through the night last night after a couple weeks of nightly waking.  I still get hit with extreme tiredness in the mid-afternoon and feel pretty lousy by the time I get home from work.  I’m trying to go to bed as early as possible but it doesn’t seem to help very much.

Other:  My stomach is still a bit of a disaster.  I miss my good old regular poos.  (Sorry, but it’s true!)  I’m usually either cramping due to being all bunged up or having loose stools.  Nothing in between.  I’m also starting to get “thicker” around the middle.  This morning, I had try three skirts before I found one that I could zip up.

2 thoughts on “12 weeks

  1. Congrats on 12 weeks! My symptoms started lessening around 11 weeks too (at least the nausea). It’s stressful, but I love reaching these little milestones. Good luck at your appointment!

Leave a Reply

