No heavy lifting

Have you ever tried to follow a “no heavy lifting” rule while alone with a toddler?  Turns out, it isn’t easy.  In fact, I’m starting to think it’s going to be impossible.

After getting diagnosed with a subchorionic bleed earlier this week, Dr. P called me to check in.  Along with no intercourse and no exertion, I was told no heavy lifting.  I assume that my 30-something-pound 2 ½ year old son counts as “heavy.”

The rule was relatively easy to follow when D was around.  He could plop Littleman into his high chair for meals, hold him up to the sink to wash his hands, lift him into the bath tub and put him to bed in his crib.  But starting last night, D was on night shift.  That means I’m on my own for dinner time, bed time, middle-of-the-night wakings and mornings.

We prepped a bit by putting a stepladder in Littleman’s room.  We thought we could trick him into thinking it was fun to climb up into his own crib.  As for meals, using the same concept, I dragged a dining room chair beside his high chair and let him climb up himself, with me supporting him.  The difficulty, of course, came when Littleman woke up numerous times after his initial bedtime, wanting to be held by mommy.

How do you tell a toddler that you can’t pick him up?   It’s so, so hard.  There were more than a few tears last night.

Thankfully, my parents have offered to take us to the farm with them for the weekend so they can help out. 

I’m so glad that I decided to tell my parents about my pregnancy this time around.  For the past two pregnancies, we’ve waiting until after the first trimester to share the news.  We knew how excited they would be and wanted them to be able to share the news with the world once we told them.

After the miscarriage, however, I decided I didn’t want to wait.  I knew that I would need to rely on my parents no matter what happened this time and I’m so glad they know.  Especially now.   Having people around who give me a break when I need it and give Littleman the attention he deserves is so important.

So, while D is working this weekend, I’ll be doing my best to take it easy and trying to let other do the heaving lifting.

One thought on “No heavy lifting

Leave a Reply

