8 weeks

8 weeks down and, according to one of my iPhone apps, only 224 days to go.  Good grief.  Human gestation is loooonnngg!  Apparently, this week Bo graduates from an embryo to a fetus.

I’ve been thinking a lot about how pregnant I would have been right now if I hadn’t miscarried in March.  I’d be 31 weeks today, and I’m guessing I would have been pretty damn uncomfortable in this crazy heat wave we’re having.  I feel gross enough as it is, so I can’t imagine how hard it must be for the very pregnant women right now. 

As for the symptoms…

Nausea:  My nausea continues to be intermittent.  I’ll feel pretty crappy one day and then fine the next.  It’s not as intense or consistent as it was with Littleman, but it’s definitely there sometimes, which I hope is a good sign.

Vomiting: None to date.

Food cravings or aversions: I’ve had a recent interest in poutines.  Today, I tried to stop myself from walking to McDonald’s for a hot fudge sundae.  I failed miserably and scarfed it down in about 30 seconds.  It was worth it. 

sundae

My afternoon treat!

Aches and Pains: Excruciating boob pain.  Yesterday it was really bad.  Just the feel of my softly padded bra on my nipples was enough to make me cringe.  And, it lasts all day long.  Ouch!   I’ve had a pretty bad headache for the past few days too, but I expect that is due to the ridiculously humid weather we’re experiencing, rather than pregnancy hormones.  Without Advil, there’s not much I can do about it. 

Fatigue: I’ve been dragging this week and getting out of bed in the mornings has become a real struggle.  By the end of the day, I’m totally wiped. 

Other:  The wacky hormones are causing me to be pretty irrational and overly emotional lately.  Also, my skin is still pretty spotty.  I was hoping to get the perfect skin that I had with Littleman’s pregnancy.  Oh well, you win some and you lose some…

3 thoughts on “8 weeks

  1. Just butting in with a quick tip. I used to lead a fairly bra-less lifestyle. If I wasn’t leaving the house, I didn’t have one on. With the boob pain, though, I’ve found that having one on 24/7 really helps. I grabbed a 3-pack of low impact/sleep bras and wear them when I’m not in my “daytime” bras. While I still ninja chop anyone who accidentally bumps them, they don’t hurt so much while sleeping/hanging around the house.

    Hope this helps!

  2. I agree with the bra tip. And OMG- I could never hide when I was preggo because I would eat poutine every single day for lunch… lol. And I never eat poutine aside from that. So weird.

Leave a Reply

