Morning sickness and miscarriage

Both before and after I got pregnant for the first time, I read a number of reports stating that pregnant women who suffered from morning sickness were less likely to miscarry. Some examples of what I read:

  • The absence of morning sickness is associated with an increased risk of early pregnancy loss.
  • One study noted that women who had no nausea or vomiting during their first trimester were more than 3 times more likely to miscarry than the women who did have morning sickness.
  • Another study stated that morning sickness lowers the risk of miscarriage by almost 70 per cent.
  • The longer a pregnant woman had morning sickness symptoms, the lower her risk of miscarriage.

The early days of my pregnancy with Littleman were plagued by nausea. From midday until late into the evening, I felt miserable and could barely eat. And when I hit the second trimester, I was disappointed to find that the nausea continued to hang around for another month or so.

As my second pregnancy progressed, I couldn’t help but wonder if there was any truth to those studies. I anxiously awaited that horrible feeling of sickness and the inability to stomach anything more than bread-type products. As much as I hated feeling nauseous all the time, there was definitely something comforting about it. It meant I was pregnant!

I hit six weeks, then seven, eight. The morning sickness just wasn’t showing up. I felt fine. I was tired, but I was eating. No food aversions, no throwing up, nothing.

I knew that miscarriage was always a possibility. I knew the stats. But, as much as I worried about my lack of symptoms, I don’t think I ever actually thought miscarriage would happen to me.

When my 12-week appointment finally rolled around, Dr. P asked me how I was feeling. “Fine,” I told him. I did tell him that I was nervous about not feeling sick. I reminded him about how I felt the last time I was pregnant and told him that I was worried about the lack of morning sickness.

He told me that he only worries when symptoms disappear. Since I never had any morning sickness, I was just lucky. That reassured me. Then we heard the baby’s heartbeat and saw the ultrasound. All was good. And I was lucky enough not to have suffered any morning sickness!

After losing the baby a couple of weeks after that appointment, I can’t stop thinking about whether or not it was a fluke or if the lack of morning sickness was a sign of trouble.

Now that I’m pregnant again, I’m hyper-aware of any pregnancy symptoms (or lack thereof). Will my minor nausea kick into higher gear? If so, will it stick around long enough to make me feel safe? If not, will I be able to enjoy feeling decent or will I constantly worry about what it may mean?

I guess I just have to wait and see.

10 thoughts on “Morning sickness and miscarriage

  1. I didn’t have any MS with Molly and it stressed me out but my mum and my sister didn’t have it either so I tried to concentrate on what I did have – aversions to food and extreme tiredness!!

    • I’ve known a few other lucky ladies who avoided ms and had healthy pregnancies too. It’s always good to be reminded of those! I’m trying to reassure myself with the fact that my boobs are killing me…

  2. Keep in mind that statistics are just that- averages and probabilities. They mean nothing to an individual. I had nausea and vomiting with every single pregnancy- the one that brought me a child, and the four that didn’t. My nausea had no bearing on outcome, obviously. Take good care of yourself, keep taking things one day at a time, and if you think it might help- say a prayer or two. Those are really the only things we have only control over, and therefore, are the only things worth stressing about. Hang in there… thinking of you.

    • Thanks. I know you are absolutely right about averages and probabilities. I’m just overly sensitive because of the lack of symptoms with my last pregnancy. But, every pregnancy is different and I need to continue to remind myself of that!

  3. I had morning sickness bad the first time I got pregnant. It was non-existent for the next two – which resulted in MCs. I will, no matter what, worry about everything if there is a next time, so I totally get it. I will be praying for you and thinking good thoughts!

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever read those statistics before. I mean, is heard ms was a good thing and usually meant less chance of miscarriage but I had never seen the actual numbers. And I definitely didn’t think they were relevant for late term miscarriages like yours. But I totally get why you’re freaked out after the experiences you had.

    What catwoman said is wise. But I know it’s hard to remember that.

  5. Its hard not to worry after you have had a loss. I have been pregnant 7 times, we have 6 children. The one we lost, our first, I had no morning sickness. I kept having a feeling something was wrong. We actually only knew about the baby for a little over a week before I lost it. I think I was lucky in that way, It was quick and over in a few days.
    But I have known so many women who haven’t had morning sickness and gone on to have healthy pregnancies so I can’t say whether or not it is true.
    I was sick pretty much the entire time for all 6 of my children, and yes it made me feel better but never truly safe. I think after you go through losing a baby, its always there, in the back of your mind. I was always looking for the blood to begin.
    I look forward to following your pregnancy and hope it is a healthy, happy one 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lesson 3: Morning sickness (there’s no real lesson here—it sucks and there’s nothing you can do about it) | From Wine to Whine

  7. Pingback: Losing My Baby Was An Horrific Experience - The Good Mother Project

Leave a Reply

