First hurdle crossed

According to my LMP, I’m 6 weeks 5 days today.  And this morning was my first ultrasound.

I was terribly nervous all weekend and felt sick to my stomach when I woke up this morning.  I choked down my two tall glasses of water and headed downtown to the ultrasound clinic.  My heart was pounding as I tried to read my book to distract myself in the waiting room.  Luckily, my name was called pretty quickly.

I recognized the ultrasound tech from one of my ultrasounds from previous pregnancy and felt my first wave of relief.  I recalled her being very quiet during the exam but she actually told me the results afterwards, rather than making me wait to hear from my doctor like most of them do.

Anyway, I was shaking as I climbed up on the table.  She started with the abdominal ultrasound and almost immediately after the wand touched my belly I thought I heard her mumble under her breath “you are pregnant.”  Of course, my complete terror could have caused me to hallucinate, so I didn’t totally trust what I had heard.

The abdominal ultrasound went on for a while and then she sent me to “empty my bladder” for the transvaginal ultrasound.  That one went on even longer, which of course had me continuing to worry.  My legs started to shake as I tried to stay calm and breath.

Finally, she turned the screen and showed me my beautiful baby!  There was Bo, looking perfect (or as perfect as a little fluttering blob can possibly look!)  She pointed out the gestational sac and yolk sac (which, honestly, I had to google when I got to work) and, when I asked, she showed me the tiny flicker of the minuscule heart. 

She said everything looked perfect and that, based on the measurement (.77cm) she estimated Bo’s due date to be exactly what was expected based on my LMP: February 26, 2014.

I can’t quite put into words how relieved I feel right now.  I know that we still have many more hurdles to cross in this pregnancy journey and I don’t know when, if at all, I will be able to relax and enjoy it.  But, today is a good day and I’m so truly happy that my little one is thriving. 

8 thoughts on “First hurdle crossed

Leave a Reply

