Embracing the good stuff

There really isn’t a bright side to having a miscarriage.   But since my body is no longer growing a new life and I haven’t been able to try for the past two months, I wanted to make sure to enjoy the things I can’t over-indulge in while trying to conceive, pregnant or breastfeeding.

These are a few of my favs:

  1. Wine.  I love wine.  I’m not a huge drinker, but I really do enjoy a couple of glasses of wine with dinner (or before dinner or after dinner) every now and then.  After getting over the initial shock of miscarrying, I welcomed the wine back into my life wholeheartedly.  Shiraz, Valpolicella, Pinot Grigio, Barolo, Prosecco… I’m not too picky.
  2. Coffee.  In the past, I continued to drink not quite one full cup of coffee a day when TTCing and pregnant.  But lately, I’ve been enjoying more than just one.  There’s nothing like coffee to start out the day and I’ve been enjoying my morning indulgence.
  3. Meds.  I don’t know about you, but acetaminophen does NOTHING for my headaches.  I need ibuprofen.  Advil is definitely the one drug I miss more than anything when I’m pregnant.  Cold and sinus medication is another highly enjoyable pill for me.  I’ve spent the past two months living pain (and congestion) free!

Don’t get me wrong, I would HAPPILY give up all of these things to be pregnant.  And, as I move further into this cycle, the time is coming to start weaning myself off this stuff.  But, since I had to get through these past couple of months, at least I could do it with a glass of wine in my hand and some Advil on standby.

On another note, after her unexpected return on Tuesday, AF disappeared…. only to return once again today.  Seriously lady, are you kidding me?  Get the hell out of here!  It is CD 9 and you have worn out your welcome!

2 thoughts on “Embracing the good stuff

  1. I too love wine, coffee, and need ibuprofen for my headaches! Lately, something has worked in reducing my headaches though. I used to get them several times a week, now I don’t even get them once a week. Maybe it’s because I’ve been avoiding caffeine? Gone gluten-free? Or having 2-3 glasses of wine a week rather than one every night? Not sure, but I like it.

  2. Gratitude is so important! Now that I’m no longer ttc, I am so enjoying wine and coffee on a regular basis. And meds- yeah, I totally get that one, too. I love not having to think about it if I want to take and advil or a reactine if I need one. There’s always a silver lining…

Leave a Reply

