Distractions

I forgot that trying to conceive means spending a lot of time waiting.  Waiting for AF to leave, waiting to ovulate, waiting to test…

So, since I’m still in the early part of my first post-miscarriage TTC cycle, I’ve been trying my best to keep busy and to distract myself from the constant thinking, iPhone app-checking and other crazy TTC rituals.

This past weekend, I busied myself with a different kind of new life – our vegetable garden.  When our family took possession of the farm last summer, the vegetable garden was already well-sprouted.  All we had to do was pick and enjoy the veggies.

This year, we’re doing it ourselves.  Being the city-folk that we are, we bought a book and watched a bunch of You Tube videos to learn some gardening tricks.  My aunt came to help us, which made a huge difference.  She (along with my late Italian grandmother) always planted a vegetable garden in their backyard, so she has a ton of experience.

garden hands

Planting the lettuce.

My legs are killing me from all the squatting, but I’m proud of all the work we did!  If everything goes well, we’ll have a nice crop of delicious veggies later this summer.  We planted arugula, spring mix lettuce, radicchio, beets, radishes, two types of carrots, green beans, cherry tomatoes, three other types of tomatoes, red peppers, onions, cucumbers, zucchini and butternut squash.

garden

Time to start growing!

Since the garden is massive, D used the rest of the space to plant pumpkins.  He planted four different types, ranging in size from jumbo to mini.

Working on the garden for a couple of days was a great way to keep my mind occupied and focused on something other than the inner workings of my reproductive organs.  However, in an attempt to distract me from my distractions, AF decided to play a stupid game with me.  Today is CD 7 and – after leaving for two full days – she decided to return in all her glory this afternoon.  WTF?  Hopefully she doesn’t plan on sticking around.

4 thoughts on “Distractions

  1. That’s so great! I wish I had a garden like that. But I’m lucky that my father-in-law has an awesome garden, so we benefit from his hard work.

    My periods are like that anymore- they start and stop a couple of times before they stop for good. So frustrating- even when you’re not ttc.

  2. I love working in my vegetable garden. It’s so therapeutic for me. Using the vegetables I grow is just as rewarding. Homegrown tomatoes are one of the most delicious foods on Earth!

  3. What a wonderful way to take your mind away. I, however, have a brown thumb and pretty much kill a plant if it’s in my stead.

    Sorry that your AF is being wonky 😦

  4. Pingback: Summer vacation | Another bun (in the oven)?

Leave a Reply

