How time flies…

It’s been three years since I stood alone in the bathroom with my heart pounding and a goofy grin on my face.  Three years ago I got my first BFP.

It’s hard to believe that Littleman progressed from those two pink lines, to a 9lb 5oz wailing newborn, to a smiley, toothless infant, to a full-blown toddler in just three short years.  I know parents say this all the time, but where does the time go?  It blows my mind that my little baby has turned into a kid.

My baby who wouldn’t take a bottle is now a toddler who picks up his own cereal bowl to slurp out any leftover milk.

And, the things that come out of his mouth continue to amaze me. My recent favourites include: “Dat shirt new, mommy?” or “Dat car orange.  Orange my favourite colour.” or “Thank you for dinner, mommy!”

Of course, the phrases I hear the most these days are “I do it myself!” and “why?”

I love watching Littleman grow and explore and learn.  I’m happy that he’s developing the way he should.  My heart bursts when he kisses me and tells me he loves me.  But I’m not gonna lie – it makes me a bit sad that he’s growing up so fast!   Before I know it, Littleman will be a Bigman and I’m just not feeling ready for that!!

2 thoughts on “How time flies…

  1. Watching our kids grow is bittersweet. Now that I know I’m not going to have another child, every moment with my daughter is a confusing mix of joy and sorrow. It’s going way too fast.

    Littleman wasn’t so little… 9lb 5oz! I can’t imagine- the wee woman was only 6lb 14oz! And she never took a bottle either… stubborn girl.

  2. Oh my gosh, do I know how this feels. Our rainbow will be three in August. I still remember sitting at a Remembrance Service for his older siblings the evening after the IUI in which he was conceived! Time does go by so quickly, and as much as I love that he is growing and learning, I still wish I could linger a little longer with him these last (almost) 3 years.

Leave a Reply

