Here we go again (a.k.a. CD 1)

So, the moment we’ve been waiting for has arrived.  CD 1 of cycle two after my miscarriage.

As I prepare to jump back into the world of trying to conceive, I know that I need to get over something that’s bugged me for a while: the acronyms.  Ever since we started trying to conceive our first in spring of 2009, I’ve lurked on fertility and motherhood-related blogs, message boards and websites.  When I first started reading, I was overwhelmed by the plethora of weird acronyms (starting with “TTC”, which is the name of the public transit system where I live!)  I don’t know why the acronyms threw me off so much.  I work for a government organization so I should be used to speaking in letters!

When I finally learned what all the acronyms stood for, I decided that I hated them.  “AF” made me shudder.  “DH” was just too cheesy for me.  You get the picture.  I swore I would never use them.  But, since I was only a lurker and never a poster, I didn’t need to.

Now that I’ve chosen to write about my journey, I’ve realized that the acronyms make things easier and are just part of this whole world.  So, here I am, getting over it.

AF has arrived.  It’s CD 1.  I’m now ready to TTC post-mc.  I’ve bought my OPKs and I’m taking my BBT.  Hoping for my BFP.

How’d I do?

Anyway, for a very long time now, I’ve dreaded CD 1.  But today I’m actually kind of happy that it’s here.  Of course, I wish I wasn’t in this situation at all and that I was 23 weeks pregnant like I was supposed to be.  But, since this is where I find myself, I’m ready to move forward.  Let’s get this show on the road!

6 thoughts on “Here we go again (a.k.a. CD 1)

  1. I hate those acronyms too! Even now as I’m blogging, I’ll avoid most of them at all costs (particularly stuff like BD for ‘baby dancing’… because where I come from, we have good old fashioned sex). And yes, I always thought of the Toronto subway too.

    Anyway, glad Day 1 has arrived and hope your TTC journey this time is a short one, followed by 40 uneventful weeks of pregnancy!

  2. Ahhh….the acronyms. It’s amazing how quickly you can pick them and AND then start using them. Glad to hear that CD1 arrived. I hope everything moves quickly.

  3. Glad to hear your cycle is back! I think mine has finally returned to ‘normal’ as well… as normal as a perimenopausal cycle can be! I would have been just over 23 weeks right now as well with my last loss- looks like we would have had similar due dates. Best of luck to you… no more ttc for me, but I’ll be watching and waiting for you to get that sticky BFP!!! (That’s the best acronym of all!!!)

  4. Pingback: My cycle in feelings | Another bun (in the oven)?

Leave a Reply

