She’s back…kind of

Two days before we left for our vacation, I started spotting.  It had been about 11 days since I’d stopped spotting from my D&C.  I wondered what was going on.  Was this my first post-miscarriage period starting?  Was this residual spotting from the miscarriage?  And WHY did it have to happen when I was about to hit the beach??

I spotted for a couple more days and then it stopped altogether for a couple of days.  Hmm, I guess this was nothing after all.  Then, BAM, there she was.  Cramps and all, my period arrived in full force 32 days after my D&C.  I was a bit annoyed to have to spend the rest of my vacation this way, but also a bit excited to think that my body was working things out and getting itself ready to start trying to conceive again.

After two days of a regular-ish period, it disappeared.  Hellooo?  Where did you go?  This was weird but since it was our day to travel home, I thought perhaps my uterus decided to give me a break.  No need to deal with tampons mid-flight, right?

The next day (yesterday), she was back again, bringing the cramps back along with her.  And then today, absolutely nothing.  So, was this the real deal?  Or some kind of cruel joke?  What’s up with the one-day-on-one-day-off routine? I have my six-week follow-up appointment with Dr. P later this week, so hopefully I will get some kind of answer.  Until then, I guess I just need to be prepared for anything.

3 thoughts on “She’s back…kind of

  1. My periods took a full six months to return to normal(ish) after my second loss. I know it’s hard not be upset, especially when you just wish you could trust your body and begin again, but I do think it’s perfectly normal. Try not to worry; hoping your doctor can put your mind at ease.

    • Six months! Wow, that’s a long time. I know that my body has been through a lot so it will take some time to get back to normal. It’s just so frustrating because I just want to move forward.

  2. I’m going through the same thing with this loss- I have episodes of heavy bleeding approximately every two weeks, then it slows to spotting, and the cycle starts all over again. Totally frustrating when you’re trying to move on. Hugs… hopefully you get some answers at your appointment.

Leave a Reply

