The big test

I read somewhere that, following a miscarriage, your period won’t return until all of the pregnancy hormone is out of your system.  Once my bleeding stopped, I was curious.  If I took a test, would it still be positive?  I wanted to test right away, but I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money on expensive tests when I knew there was no way I was really pregnant.  Instead, I had to wait for my new stash of cheap tests that I ordered online to arrive.  So, three weeks post-D&C, I took a test.

I’m not going to lie, after all the pregnancy tests I’ve taken in the past, it felt really weird to be hoping for a negative.  Before, anytime I peed on that stick, my heart would pound and I would close my eyes and wish for that second line to appear.  This time, all I wanted was to see that blank white space beside the control line.

Today, I was in luck!  A BFN!  I can’t really believe I feel happy about being not pregnant.  (Well, at least as happy as someone who suffered a miscarriage can feel about the situation).  But, at least this means that the hormones are out of my system and (hopefully) my body knows that it’s time to start thinking about regular cycles again.

Now, we wait and see what this body of mine decides to do.

 

One thought on “The big test

  1. It is so strange to hope for that blank space, isn’t it. I know what you mean though, and it is at least achieving a milestone and a signal that things are moving forward, whatever that might mean and however you want them to go.

Leave a Reply

