Do little kids have a sixth sense?

I’ve read about people who have said that a young child sensed their pregnancy or that their dog starting acting different as soon as they got pregnant.  That always sounded weird to me.  I mean, come on, how does a kid or a pet know what’s going on in your body?

Now, I have to wonder though.  Shortly after we found out I was pregnant, we told Littleman he was going to be a big brother.  “Are you going to have a baby brother or sister?” we would ask him.  “Sister,” he always replied, even though it was way too early for us to know the baby’s gender.  He liked to talk to my stomach and give it kisses.

D and I nicknamed the baby “Poppy” because it was the size of a poppy seed when we first found out we were expecting.  One day Littleman misheard us and started calling it “Puppet” which made us smile.   In the evenings, he would come and kiss Puppet, his “sister.”

A couple of nights before we found out about the miscarriage, I was home alone with Littleman.  I was reading him some books before bedtime and I asked him if he wanted to say goodnight to Puppet.  He looked at me and said “Puppet gone.”

Did he already know something was wrong?  Or was it just one of those weird random things that little kids say?

2 thoughts on “Do little kids have a sixth sense?

  1. In my opinion, I think kids, like animals, know. They are very empathetic. Think of it like when he was just a baby; Whenever you got upset, chances are he would start to become fussy, agitated, cranky, something negative feeling wise. Babies feel exactly what we feel. Sometimes, I’ve noticed with my daughter, she picks up extra vibes off of me that I don’t even realize I’m really feeling until she begins to act a certain way.
    I don’t see that going away until he is much older. I think he had a sense of it.

  2. Pingback: The things they know | Another bun (in the oven)?

Leave a Reply

