Going out in public

It turns out going out in public was awful.  Way worse than I anticipated.  We live in Canada and Target has recently opened some stores here.  Whenever we would travel to the U.S., Target was one of my favourite places to check out.  Obviously, I was pretty excited to check it out.  We decided to hit up our new Target for something to do two days after the surgery.  Big mistake.

Two weeks ago I would have been in heaven.  The first things we saw when we walked in were the cute little bikinis and other summer wear.  I should have been happily marching right past this stuff because, of course, they weren’t going to fit my big pregnant body this summer!  I averted my eyes and kept walking, only to come to the maternity wear.  I felt my eyes fill with tears as I quickly turned the corner to keep moving through the store.  Eek, baby gear.  Obviously we have all the major baby gear we would have needed since we already have our Littleman, but seeing the swings and infant seats and baby monitors still broke my heart.  I had to get out of there.

I’m not sure what would have been a better first outing – maybe there isn’t anywhere that would have made me feel better – but Target definitely felt like a bad call that day.

Leave a Reply

